I must be a misogynist

I have often wondered “am I a misogynist”. I know I’m not supposed or allowed to be one but I do wonder if I am one anyway.

Apparently if I disagree with feminism then I am a misogynist. I am pretty sure that failure to claim oneself as a feminist is misogynistic as well. But it goes deeper than that. Believing in the sanctity of life is misogyny, hoping for equal treatment in the courts both family and criminal is misogyny. Expecting equal treatment for men and women in education and the workplace is misogyny also. Is just disagreeing with a woman misogyny? If it’s not then maybe it will be soon.

Given all the ways it’s possible to be a misogynist and many of the ways I must have missed I must st surely be one?

Should I care? Most women have no problem at all with misandry. They could shout, out loud, in a crowded bar, “I am a misandrist!” and would likely receive a cheer.

But misogyny is such a horrible label to have though. It makes me sound like a school bully or a violent criminal or something like that. The truth is I am actually rather boring as I am sure you already suspect. I broke the law once when I did 35mph in a 30mph zone but that ended my bad boy phase.

I do believe in equality of opportunity and treatment under the law. I believe men and women are equal and should be treated equally. Neither gender should have special privilege over the other.

But I think misogyny is really about the hatred of women. So do I hate women?

My first answer would have to be no because all of the individual women in my life are people I love and will love forever.

My second answer is a bit more difficult. As a man I want to be able to live my life freely. I want to be treated fairly and equally.

If I commit a crime my punishment should be the same as others would receive regardless of my gender and I should always enjoy the presumption of innocence until proven guilty.

If I divorce I should be able to have full and equal rights to my children, if I have any. My children should always have rights and should not be subjected to painful and inhuman abortion when they are deemed inconvenient.

I should not have to financially support another adult for the rest of their life because that reduces me to the role of a slave. I should be able to keep the assets I have lawfully earned and worked hard for.

If I am assaulted by a woman I should be allowed to defend myself. If I am insulted I should be allowed to reply in kind.

If I am falsely accused of domestic or sexual violence my accuser should be punished to the full extent of the law. If  I am accused I should be afforded due process and have anonymity until such time that I am found to be guilty. If I am guilty then I fully deserve to be punished and punished severely as any other person in the same position.

All life should be of equal worth. I shouldn’t be treated as a disposable person because I am male. My country doesn’t have the right to force me into military service and expect me to give my life in battle because I am male.

When I apply for a job my application should be considered on the merits of my qualifications, experience, achievements and how I present and conduct myself. Positive discrimination, quotas and women only shortlists are discrimination.

Because  women are either feminists or passively enjoy the injustices that feminism has imposed on men then, in response, I must be a misogynist.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑